Single Euro Payments Area

SEPA is a project launched by the banks of Europe and stands for Single Euro Payments Area. The project goal is to create a single European payments area. This will allow for the handling of future bank transfers, debit entries and card payments across borders – just as quickly and conveniently as domestic payments in each respective home country.

The new Single Euro Payments Area (=SEPA) will include 31 countries: the 27 EU countries plus Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland.

The countries of the new Single Euro Payments Area  

The introduction of SEPA offers numerous advantages:

Advantages for entrepreneurs  

See here for more information on the schedule for the SEPA implementation:


The Erste Bank expert for payment transactions, Jean-Yves Jacquelin, represents Austria in the EPC (European Payments Council in Brussels). What this means for you as a client of Erste Bank: You receive first-hand information. Read his expert comment here:

Expert comment by Jean-Yves Jacquelin  

For more Information on SEPA, go to the website of the European Central Bank. You can read up more about the following topics here:

1. The creation of a Single Payments Area
2. The effects of SEPA for those involved
3. The elements of SEPA
4. SEPA and the euro system

European Central bank  

Do you have any other questions? Then send us an e-mail.