Single Euro Payments Area

SEPA is a project of the European banks and stands for Single Euro Payments Area. The aim is to achieve a uniform European payment area. It can be used in future to carry out transfers, debit entries and card payments across national borders – these transactions will then be completed just as quickly and easily as domestic payments in each country.

The new European Payments Area (= SEPA) comprises 33 countries: the 28 EU-countries plus Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Monaco.

The introduction of SEPA provides you, the consumer, with many advantages:

Detailed information on SEPA can be found on the homepage of the European Central Bank.